Temporary Brit

My three months of adventures in London!

“That’s what I like about you…” September 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — temporarybrit @ 9:27 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

Things I like better in the U.S. than in London

  • TV.  I just can’t get into most British tv shows, with a few notable exceptions (more on that later)
  • Opening hours for stores.  It IS possible to find places open late over here, but it’s not as prevalent as it is in the U.S.  I like being able to go to the store whenever without having to worry about whether or not it will be open.
  • The price of public transportation.  Even though the bus systems back home keep jacking up their prices, it’s still cheaper than taking the Tube over here.
  • The weather doesn’t change QUITE as fast at home as it does here.  In other words, I can actually look out my window in the morning, decide what I need to wear and bring with me for the day, and not regret my decision later.  Not so easy to do that in London. 😛
  • The safety aspect of being a pedestrian.  As I said in an early post, just crossing the street can be RIDICULOUS in London.  I hardly ever almost get run over at home. 😀
  • Return policies in stores.  Most of the shops here only give you 28 days to return something.  A lot of U.S. stores give you as much as 90 days with a receipt.
  • My church.  The one I’ve been attending regularly on Sunday mornings is nice, but I DO miss Mill Creek Foursquare.

 

Things I like better in London than in the U.S.

  • The sweets.  No surprise there; I’ve already done two separate blog posts on candy, and I have plans for a third.  It’s not JUST the candy, either.  It’s the cookies, and the doughnuts, and the biscuits, and even the cake.  I’m not much of a cake person, but it’s just BETTER over here.
  • Everything about public transportation EXCEPT the price.  It’s going to be awfully hard to go back to waiting half an hour or more for buses at home when I’ve never had to wait more than 10 minutes for the Tube here.  Even 10 minutes is an unusually long wait.
  • Costume dramas on tv.  Two words: DOWNTON. ABBEY.
  • The architecture.  It’s not really Seattle’s fault that it’s not as cool to look at as London.  London has had a lot longer to work on its image!
  • Everything about walking except the safety issue.  There’s a lot more to look at that’s actually interesting here than back home.
  • Clothes shopping; see previous blog post.
  • The fact that so many of the fun things to do here are FREE!
 

Leave a Reply

