Temporary Brit

My three months of adventures in London!

Kew July 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — temporarybrit @ 12:18 AM
Tags: , , , ,

I got off to kind of a late start this morning; I didn’t even wake up until 10am (ooops).  It also took me ages to get myself organized to actually leave the house and go anywhere, so it seemed like a good day to take it easy.  I headed southwest to Kew Gardens, which took about an hour and fifteen minutes by Tube.  I DEFINITELY wasn’t the only one who had that idea.  When I made to the  entrance, the line was out the gate and halfway down the block.  I ended up waiting in that line for about fifteen minutes, but after I got in, the place didn’t feel nearly as crowded as I thought it would be.  In fact, there were times when I found myself totally alone…it was very peaceful. 🙂

So…what should you know about Kew Gardens?  First off…the place is HUGE.  I walked around for hours and I’m pretty sure there are parts of it that I missed.  Since the greenhouses closed before the rest of the park, I tried to hit those first.  Too bad they weren’t all in the same area; that might have saved me a bit of walking.  Oh well…the grounds were pretty, too. 🙂  Here are a few of the things I saw:

These next few are from the water lily house.  That was probably my favorite of all the greenhouses, even though it was one of the smaller ones.  Maybe I liked it because it was so photogenic? 🙂

Here’s Queen Charlotte’s Cottage; it’s located within Kew Gardens.  I didn’t get to go inside, unfortunately; it was closed up tight.

Before I left home, I bought a membership to Historic Royal Palaces.  The card they sent me gives me unlimited access for a year to five different properties.  Kew Palace is one of them.  It was home to King George III and Queen Charlotte, along with some of their fifteen (yes, fifteen) children.  It’s where the Queen died in 1818, and where King George was kept during his supposed “madness.”  I liked it; Kew is small (very small) as palaces go, but it feels liveable.  Plus, the guides were very nice, helpful, and enthusiastic. 🙂  Here’s the Palace:

The town of Kew was awfully nice, too.  Very pretty houses, lots of cute shops.  I think I’ll live there instead of Kensington and Chelsea, if I become a extremely wealthy (“I wanna be a billionaire so freakin’ bad…..” 😛 ).

Overall, I’m really settling into things here.  I didn’t even have to use a map to get to and from the house and the Tube today.  For someone who was born without a sense of direction, that’s a big accomplishment! 🙂  I feel like I’ve been here longer than three and a half days, and I’m already starting to worry that my time here is going to go WAY too fast.  If anyone knows how I can slow things down, let me know!

 

2 Responses to “Kew”

  1. Cheryl A Randall Says:

    Emily

    So glad that you are getting settled. I assume the “tube’ is the transit system there much like our lightrail. Th photos are awesome. Makes me feel liek I am there as well. Keep ’em coming. You ARE going to come back now AREN’T you? LOL!!!

    BTW Where are your seats for Paul…mine are table 109 on the left side.

    Hugs

    Cheryl

    • The Tube is sort of like light rail, only WAY better. It covers more ground, it’s faster, and more convenient. Yes, I’m definitely coming back, and my seat for Paul’s show is at table…213, I think.


Leave a Reply

